COVID-19: FG Listed Five States To Undergo COVID-19 Drugs Trial – See Details

Spread the love


The federal government has listed states like Lagos, FCT, Ogun Kaduna, Sokoto, and Kano to be enrolled in the World Health Organisation treatment regime on a solidarity drug trial.

The Nigeria government said that the solidarity trial, which is an international clinical trials, is part of the WHOs efforts to develop an effective treatment regimen and vaccines to reduce Coronavirus in the shortest period.

Dr, Osagir Ehanire the minister for health, made this known at Abuja on Monday, during the daily briefings of the Presidential Task Force on Coronavirus.

Osagie said that as on Sunday afternoon, the country had ramped up testing by an additional 1,127 making a total of 27,078 tests, which yielded 4,399 cases in 35 states of Nigeria, with the gender ratios of 70% to 30% for men and women.

He said, “Federal Government is cooperating with the WHO on treatment regimen solidarity trial with the following states enrolled; Lagos, FCT, Ogun, Kaduna, Sokoto, and Kano.

“As at the end of Monday, Nigeria has ramped up testing by 1,127 to a total of 27,078 tests, which yielded 4,399 cases in 35 States, with a gender ratio of 70 to 30 percent for men and women.

“Kogi and Cross River states have not reported any cases, but we are optimistic that we can work with the state Health Ministry to validate this in due course when we engage the state authorities.

“A team from the Ministry of Health made up of experts from various specialties including the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, is on standby to proceed to Calabar as soon as travel arrangements can be made, taking with them a resource to support the health system.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.